Chairman of the Board’s Report

Hi everyone,

I am John Payne, your new Chairman of the Board of Directors. Since the Annual General Meeting (AGM) the Board has been very busy organizing and reorganizing all the old and new positions on the Board. We have provided all of their contact information for you on under the About Us tab on this website and we encourage you to contact them if you have any questions or concerns.

Your 2015/2016 FFAO Executive:

President: Chris Karpinchick (Karpy)
Past President: Dave Carruthers
1st Vice President: vacant
2nd Vice President: Ron King
Secretary: Veronda Brydges
Treasurer: Gilles Boisvert


2015/2016 FFAO Board of Directors:

Chairman of the Board: John Payne
Director: William S. Burns
Director: Brad Patton
Director: Dennis Thain
Director: Marion Kuiper-Lampman


2015/2016 FFAO Committee Chairpersons:

Credentials: Karen Brooks
Convention: John Payne
Fire Prevention & Education: Shawna Wyant
Fire Services Society: Marion Kuiper-Lampman
Games and Competitions: Steve Pandur
Laws and Legislation: Wayne Nie
Membership: Bevin Brooks
Occupational Health & Safety: Jeri Ottley
Occupational Health & Safety: Jonathan Karn
Padre: Re. Stephen Berryman
Sergeant At Arms/Regalia: John Uptegrove
Training: Shawna Wyant
Ways and Means: Linda Carruthers

This year, the FFAO made the decision to end our magazine and look at more cost-effective approach. We’ve joined up with ANNEX MEDIA PUBLISHING. Look for the FFAO newsletter, now to be published in the pages of CANADIAN FIREFIGHTER magazine, as an insert.

Our association is a flourishing and vibrant organization and will be making our presence known by using our new website Please be sure to visit our site often to get up-to-date news, events and to stay connected. Follow us on Twitter too: @joinffao.

Join us:

In last year’s report, Wayne Nie stated our association needs new and active firefighters. Only 14 members of the Executive are active firefighters and 7 are retired firefighters. That’s right! Two-thirds of the Executive are active firefighters, so please consider running for an office on the Executive this year. You can make a difference.

We are looking to expand our membership and grow our association. We’ve proudly been a part of the Ontario Fire Services Community for over 100 years. Be a part of the tradition.

An individual membership is only $50.00 per year. Fire departments can join at only $50.00 per station, per year. Associate membership is just $200.00 per year and a website sponsor is only $200.00 per year.

We’ll see you at our Annual Convention 2016, always held on the August long weekend, and returning this year to the hospitality of Wainfleet, Ontario. Don’t miss out!

I invite you to learn more about us at and follow us on Twitter @joinFFAO.