Previous Honourees

The following is a list of names and dates of firefighters who have received the Medal of Merit or a Medal of Merit Citation.

Year Recipient Department
2012 Fire Chief Robert Lymburner Pelham FD
2009 Firefighter Ed Van Severn Brampton/Clearview FD
2007 No Recipient
2006 Firefighter David Canney Burlington FD (Kilbride)
2005 Captain David Sparling, Lieutenant Paul Kerr, Lieutenant Mike McDonald, Firefighter Rob Kolkman, Firefighter Mike Pawitch, Firefighter Jeff Josling,   Firefighter Herb Grovier Blyth FD
2004 Deputy Station Chief Larry Lewis Perth East FD (Sebringville)
2003 Captain Donald Pardo, Firefighter Jeri Ottley, Firefighter Pete Blokker Chatham/Kent FD
2002 Captain Edward Forester, Captain James Lowe, Firefighter Gerald Kers, Firefighter Derek Sheard, Firefighter Andrew Lowe, Firefighter Mark McKean, Firefighter Robert McKean, Firefighter Michael Payne Clearview FD (Stayner)
2001 Firefighter Daryl Brodhaeched, Firefighter Ray Ellis, Firefighter Dave Eveleigh, Firefighter Rick Richardson Mapleton FD
2000 Firefighter Travis Walker, Firefighter Harry Donkersgoed Mapleton FD
1997 Firefighter Paul Holland, Firefighter Mark Weber Minto FD (Harriston)
1995 Firefighter Mitch Cowitz Dundas FD
1994 Firefighter Edmund Hillier Halton Hills FD
1993 Acting Captain Donald Kee, Firefighter Ross Gonneau Brampton FD
1992 Captain Ron Russelo Leamington FD (Mersea)
1991 Firefighter Ken Boys Elora FD
1990 Firefighter Hank Williams, Firefighter Ken Beatie Alliston FD
1989  Captain Richard Burgin, Firefighter Warren Burgin Burlington FD, Stn. 4 Vol./ Flamborough FD, Waterdown Stn.
1988 Firefighter John Argue, Firefighter Gerald Gagnon Midland FD
1987 Firefighter Doug Andrews Halton Hills FD
1986 Firefighter Dave Holmes, Firefighter Tim Gingrich Elmira FD
1985 Firefighter Thomas Lasovich, Firefighter John Smits Port Colborne FD
1984 Firefighter Douglas Basterfield, Firefighter Jack Cameron Etobicoke FD
1983 Firefighter Gary Mugford Toronto FD


I apologize if I have made any errors or omissions in compiling this list. Please contact me for any further information or to make a Medal of Merit nomination at

Written By: Brad Patton, Member of the Board of Directors for the Fire Fighters Association of Ontario and Fire Chief for Centre Wellington Fire & Rescue.